Veal Masters The Slick In Darwin
Author : SCW Media

Warrnambool’s Jamie Veal bounced back after the disappointment of night 1 as he dominated Round 2 of the Chariots of Thunder Sprintcar Series, that incorporated the Tri-Star Cup, at the Northline Speedway in Darwin on Saturday night. After trailing pole sitter Ryan Jones early in the 30-lap final it didn’t take Veal long to work his way into the lead and he was untroubled as he lapped up to sixth position on an extremely slick racetrack.

“It was pretty sketchy out there, but it was still a great track. I just moved around and made it work. Once the car had burnt off a bit of fuel it made it a fair bit easier. It makes up for last night and we take a short break and come back on Friday” added Veal on the podium.

It was a great night for the South Australians as Matt Egel drove the Geoff and Michael Brown owned #52 into second while Jones completed the podium in third.

“We got close there at the end as Jamie obviously got held up in traffic, but I got held up at times as well. It would have been awesome to have got the win second night out for the team but second is still a great result. Geoff and Michael have full trust in me, and they have given me everything I need to win races” commented Matt following his runner-up finish.

Third placed Ryan Jones was content with his podium result. “We are confident in what we have going on. I needed that race to 40 laps as the car was way too snug. We will back next week and hope the crowd come out again to support this great event”.

Fourth place went to Western Australian Mitch Wormall with Jye O’Keeffe making up for a tough run on night 1 with a top five result. Danny Reidy kept his early season form going in sixth while Robbie Farr, Taylor Milling, Glen Sutherland and Kye Scroop completing the top ten.

For the second night in a row James McFadden failed to finish with a fuel line issue while round 1 winner Steven Lines, who charged from the C-Main to the back of A, also finished on the infield after making contact with the wall.

The night was another brutal encounter with several drivers rolling over including Jason Pryde, Cori Jackson, Tim Hutchins and Marcus Dumesny.