The 2019 SCCA AGM marks 50th Anniversary
Author : Sprintcars Australia

The SCCA held its Annual General Meeting last weekend (June 15 & 16) in Melbourne and it marked a momentous year being the 50th.

We welcomed Brad Hilder as the new National Technical Officer, which also saw Wayne Baines move to National Executive Officer. Mark Richards remains as National Secretary with Gary Winterbottom continuing in the role of National Chief Steward. The President position was not up for re-election, and hence Kathy Kelly continues in her role.

The conference was attended by all State Member Clubs, who debated Notices of Motions, safety and all things Sprintcars over the 2 days.

A notable change to the specifications will be the mandatory requirement to run a full containment seat, effective from 1 September this year. The updated specification will be available in full shortly. Additionally, in order to have a clear determination for the maximum number of cars allowed on the track at a venue at a time, the SCCA will provide a Track Density Matrix – to alleviate any ambiguity – this will be available on the SCCA Sprintcarworld Web site. A matrix will also be introduced for Social Media breaches, based on the current Speedway Australia model and the members voted to adopt the Speedway Australia Mechanical Defect flag – changing to the more utilised black with white disc.

A complete list of rule changes will be available to SMCs in the coming days.

The members voted to continue their support for Australia’s leading Sprintcar web site, providing full coverage of both the 410 and 360 Championships at Latrobe and Simpson speedways respectively.

Registration and Licence fees will again remain unchanged and we will continue to provide support to World Series Sprintcars by way of providing a Chief Steward. The Speedway Australia Rising Stars program will be supported again by way of SCCA sponsorship.

Finally, the 2021 410 Australian Sprintcar Championship was awarded to Perth Motorplex, subject to finalisation of contract and the 360 Championship to Murray Bridge Speedway.