TVG Wins NT Sprintcar Title
Author : SCW Media

The Chariots of Thunder Series came to a conclusion on Saturday night at the 7mate Northline Speedway in Darwin with Tim Van Ginneken adding the Northern Territory Sprintcar Title to his two Western Australian Championships on a dramatic night of racing. After an unfortunate incident in the pole shuffle, that ended Dave Murcott’s campaign, TVG pushed the controversy aside to defeat James McFadden and Luke Oldfield in the Championship decider.

After leading a majority of the race McFadden looked set for victory until a late race caution for Hayden Pitt bunched the field giving Van Ginneken one last chance to pounce. With five laps to go that was exactly what he did and he went on to win his third major title.

“That’s unreal. I took my time there. I waited until the end as I wanted to keep the tyres in good shape. There are so many people to thank but I have got to start with my car owner Harry Droste. Without him I wouldn’t be here” added the new Champion on the podium.

On the podium McFadden wasn’t so upbeat as he knew that he had let a State Championship slip through his fingers.

“I thought there was rubber down the bottom. It was my fault I guess I just got it wrong tonight”.

Third placed Luke Oldfield had his best run of the series bouncing back from a big accident the week prior with Danny Porter,

“I can’t thank Keith Phelps enough for allowing me to drive his car. He gave me a great car and Peter McIver is a great crew chief. This place is awesome, great track and great people. I was glad that I was able to come up here and race” commented Oldfield.

Western Australian Mitch Wormall finished just off the podium in fourth with Rusty Hickman, Kaiden Manders, outgoing NT Champion Ben Atkinson, Danny Porter, Adam Clarke and Ryan Davis completing the top ten.

McFadden’s runner-up finish in the A-Main helped the Monte Motorsports pilot take out the overall Chariots of Thunder Series after finishing the four-night tournament with two main event wins to go with his second placing.

“This is a really cool series. It has been a lot of fun being up here. I hope to be back to defend the title next year. I must thank everyone involved for organising it and the fans for supporting it lie they have” added James as he collected his Championship trophy.

Earlier in the evening the heat wins were secured by McFadden (2), Oldfield, Sutherland, Karpenko and Atkinson while Atkinson, Domain Ramsay, Ryan Davis and Damian Thorne made the Championship final after transferring from the B-Main.