The Monte Motorsports Team celebrate their Night 1 victory

McFadden Wins NT Title Night 1
Author : SCW Media

Night 1 of the Northern Territory Sprintcar Title at Darwin’s 7mate Northline Speedway was dominated by Victorian residents with five of the top six placings all going to drivers from the Garden State. After winning last Saturday night James McFadden dominated the 20-lap preliminary feature to beat home Tim Van Ginneken, Dave Murcott and Jake Smith. After an improved performance South, Australian Glen Sutherland broke up the Victorian procession with Bendigo’s Rusty Hickman completing the top six.

“This is a good start to the weekend but we need to be back up here tomorrow night. We tried a few things to try and make us a bit better for 30 laps tomorrow” added McFadden following his win.

Following Hickman home in seventh place was Queenslander Luke Oldfield with current Chariots of Thunder Champion Jason McIver, Mitch Wormall and Adam Clarke rounding out the top 10.

South Australian Hayden Pitt was next across the line with Kaiden Manders finishing twelfth after spinning in turn two with only four laps remaining while running in third.

Earlier the heat winners were Chace Karpenko, McFadden, Manders, Hickman, Van Ginneken and Murcott.

The B-Main saw Wormall, Jason Gebert, Jamie O’Neill and Paul Drew transfer into the main event while Manders set the quickest lap in qualifying.

The Northern Territory Sprintcar Title continues on Saturday night and it will also bring the 2017 Chariots of Thunder Series to a conclusion.