Chace Karpenko (21), Domain Ramsay (2) and Tim Van Ginneken (36) will all be in action this Saturday Night in Darwin (Phil Michell Photo)

Chariots Of Thunder Series Gets Underway This Weekend
Author : Phil Michell Motorsport Media

The 2017 Ostojic Chariots of Thunder Series kicks off this Saturday night at the 7Maye Northline Speedway in Darwin with the $10,000 to win Make a Wish Cup. One of the strongest line-ups of 410ci Sprintcars ever seen in Darwin will grace the clay as they attempt to get their series off to the best possible start.

Despite the Make-A-Wish Cup not counting towards the overall Chariots of Thunder Championship Series the racing should be still of a very high level with $10,000 on offer and the opportunity to take bragging rights into the “Defend the Top End” event next Friday Night.

The local nomination list is extremely strong with the defending Chariots Champion Jason McIver, who is coming off a feature win, among the leading contenders in addition to Ben Atkinson, who has teamed up with Western Australian Team Owner Steve Duggan, Chace Karpenko, Danny Porter, Jason Gebert, Jamie McInnes and Jamie O’Neill.

But the locals will have their work cut out for them as the interstate contingent comprises of some of the best drivers in Australia including dual Australian Champion Dave Murcott, who will be making his Darwin debut.

Joining Murcott will be four times Australian Speedcar Champion Adan Clarke, who made a return to Sprintcar racing late last season, dual Western Australian Champion Tim Van Ginneken, current WA 360ci Champion Mitch Wormall, former Australian 360ci Champion Tony Moule and livewire Bendigo teenager Rusty Hickman.

In addition to Van Ginneken, Moule and Hickman Victoria will also be well represented by veteran Domain Ramsay, Ryan Davis and Paul Drew while the sole South Australian nomination this weekend is Mount Gambier’s Glen Sutherland, who was so impressive during his Northern Tour last season, recording three podium finishes in four starts.

The final interstate entries come from Western Australia with Jake Beard-Miller and Kaiden Manders, both of whom have already been racing in Darwin this season. Beard-Miller has already recorded a podium result this season while Manders will be hoping to bounce back after a chassis destroying wreck earlier in his Darwin campaign.

The format for Saturday night will comprise of Time Trials in seeded groups, two rounds of heats, a pole shuffle, a last chance qualifier and a 30-Lap A-Main.

Following the Make-A-Wish Sprintcar Cup this Saturday night the Chariots of Thunder series will continue over the next fortnight with four nights of action. This weekend’s field of 26 drivers will joined by a further five interstate nominations next Friday night including dual World Series Sprintcars Champion James McFadden, Queenslanders Luke Oldfield, who secured 10 A Main victories last season, and Andrew Corbet, Victorian Jake Smith and South Australian racer Hayden Pitt.

Don’t forget if you can’t make it trackside this Saturday night you can catch all the action from Darwin live via

Ostojic Chariots of Thunder Ticket prices and information:

ADULTS - $30.00
CHILD - 13-16yrs $15.00
ENTRY + POPE'S BARą (18+ only) $40.00

You can pre-purchase tickets and get weekend Pass deals are available at

You can pay at the gate, we have cash and eftpos facilities are available.

Please Note:

- Child prices are for children aged 13-16yrs
- Children Under 13yrs are free and do not require a ticket
- Family Concession prices are available at the gate only
- You can BYO in general admission areas only but no glass.
- Northline speedway Members cards will still get you free admission.

Full Sprintcar Nomination List (26) – August 12, 2017 – Make A Wish Sprintcar Cup:

NT11 Jake Beard-Miller (WA)
NT14 David Ling
NT17 Lenny Cole
NT18 Jason Gebert
NT2 Damien Thorne
NT21 Chace Karpenko
NT24 Jamie O’Neill
NT26 Tony Moule (Vic)
NT32 Steven Ling
NT38 Luke Robinson
NT4 Jamie McInnes
NT65 Jason McIver
NT8 Caleb Gotts
NT83 Mark Robinson
NT9 Danny Porter
Q29 Adam Clarke
Q83 David Murcott (Vic)
S20 Glen Sutherland
V2 Domain Ramsay
V36 Tim Van Ginneken
V40 Rusty Hickman
V95 Ryan Davis
V99 Paul Drew
W41 Ben Atkinson (NT)
W60 Kaiden Manders
W97 Mitch Wormall