World Series Sprintcars – Schedule Locked and Loaded.
Author : Via Speedway Australia

Speedway Australia confirmed today 14 rounds, 15 nights of exciting, elite level Sprintcar action will make up the schedule for Australia’s toughest national sprintcar series WSS31.

Huge interest centres on the schedule that will potentially be contested by up to 20 contracted teams. Speedway Australia is amidst the planning of the competition that boasts the traditional events plus introducing new venues to the competition that are sure to add spice to an already challenging competition.

The fan favourite Speedweek returns with the opening event at the picturesque Murray Bridge Speedway. Murray Bridge will host the first 2 rounds back to back with Speedweek considered a holiday destination for many race fans from across Australia.

Murray Bridge Speedway Track Manager Darren Shaddock is excited by the opportunity to host the opening round on Boxing Day. “Logistically hosting 2 days of World Series is a mammoth task, but we are up for the job.” Shaddock said. “We have secured local council support and planning is now in progress to cater for an influx of racefans to Murray Bridge.”

New to the calendar is the return to Tasmania for 3 rounds of the competition that will make up the ‘Devil Swing’. Promoter Guy Thompson said “The series return to the Apple Isle has been met with much local approval and we look forward to welcoming the largest contingent of Sprintcar teams to Tasmania that I can remember.”

Add in the Australian Sprintcar Open at the Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway, the return to Attwell Park Speedway in Albany and a Grand Final masterpiece at Perth Motorplex, competitors and fans are certain of a quality competition, fitting for the mantle of Australian Speedway.

Attwell Parks Kevin Theyer said “This is an important event for the south and south east regions of West Australia. Fans drive and travel many hours and they can be assured a great show will be in place. Our new track surface has been tried and proven and with further improvements to be in place by early February, the Albany Speedway Club are enthused by the potential of the series return.”

The 20 teams offered contracts to contest WSS31 will be announced in the near future.

SPEEDWEEK – South Australia, Victoria
Murrays Machining and Sheds, Murray Bridge Speedway. Rd. 1 December 26
Murrays Machining and Sheds, Murray Bridge Speedway. Rd. 2 December 27
Borderline Speedway, Mt Gambier. Rd. 3 December 28
Avalon Raceway, Geelong. Rd. 4 December 30
Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway, Warrnambool. Rd. 5 January 1
Sunshine Swing - Queensland
Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway. Rd. 6 January 3
Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway. Rd. 7 January 5 & 6 - the Australian Sprintcar Open
The Devil Swing - Tasmania
Gulf Western Independent Oils Raceway, Latrobe. Rd. 8 February 2
Gulf Western Independent Oils Raceway, Latrobe. Rd. 9 February 3
Solo Hobart Speedway. Rd. 10 February 10
The Western Swing – West Australia
Attwell Park Speedway, Albany. Rd. 11 February 16
Quit Bunbury Speedway. Rd. 12 February 17
Perth Motorplex, Kwinana Beach. Rd.13 February 24
Perth Motorplex, Kwinana Beach. Rd. 14 February 25 – Grand Final