2013 Lucas Oil Classic Entry Forms Now Online
Author : Premier Speedway

The calendars may have only just rolled over into September but it is all systems go at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool ahead of the 2013 41st Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic with nomination and sub regulation forms now available for download from the Premier Speedway website.

The 2013 Classic will be contested on Saturday January 26 and Sunday January 27, 2013.

As is always the case the now traditional Standard Fan Appreciation Day will again be held at the Flying Horse Bar and Brewery on Saturday morning from 10.00am until 12 noon. The Classic Brunch will also again feature as a part of the Classic weekend on Sunday from 9.30am, also at the Flying Horse Bar and Brewery.

The format for the 2013 Classic will remain similar to the 2012 version with night one consisting of time trials, two rounds of heats, a preliminary B-Main and the Oval Express Magazine Australia – America Challenge Cup which pays a handsome $6000.00 to win.

Night two will see a further two rounds of heats and then the last chance C and B Mains before the 40 lap Lucas Oil Grand Annual Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic finale.

Should time and car numbers warrant additional E and D main events, these may be added to the program.

The only major change in the format relates to time trials.

For 2013 all drivers will be seeded into pairs and then divided into two groups. A draw for time trial order will then be conducted for each group. A further draw will then determine which group will time trial as group one and group two.
Each group will see the fastest qualifier rewarded with maximum points and a $1000.00 quick time bonus. The fastest of the two groups will have their name added to the prestigious Alan Pollard Memorial Trophy.

After celebrating the 40th Anniversary Classic in 2012 with a $40,000.00 pay day for eventual winner Ian Loudoun, the first placed cheque will revert to $30,000.00 in 2013 with the additional funds re-directed back through the Sunday A, B and C Mains.

This change ensures that all 20 starters in the Sunday night Classic final are guaranteed $1750.00 to start, B-Main starters are assured $900.00 and anyone contesting the C-Main will accrue a minimum of $500.00.

Premier Speedway General Manager David Mills explains;

“We are extremely excited about the 2013 Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic, we have made a couple of very subtle changes, one to the time trial portion of the weekend which we feel will keep more drivers in the hunt for longer and the other strategically with regards to the payout. These decisions were made on the back of the competitor surveys that were sent out post the 2012 Classic and some of the responses we received”, Mills said.

“We are also very aware of the desire for some or a majority to see the Classic move forward to a three day event, and for the introduction of a tyre rule. We are continuing to work with other concerned parties with regards to the three night deal in addition to keeping an eye on the tyre situation”, Mills added.

“We have already received our first nomination form back following our recent mail out, so technically I guess we have a favorite for the Classic at this early stage”, Mills laughed.

“All I ask for is that the competitors read through the sub-regs so that it all makes sense come race weekend, we hope the competitors and then the race fans are as excited as we are ahead of the biggest weekend on the Australian Sprintcar calendar.

The 2013 Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic is proudly supported by Oval Express Magazine, Simonds Homes, KRE Race Engines and the Lady Bay Resort.

Any competitor seeking further information is asked to contact David Mills on 0408 529 625. Entry forms and sub regulations can be downloaded from www.premierspeedway.com.au, under the Forms Icon, then select Race Entry Forms.

End Release.